dental health

Ark Naturals Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste: What Makes It Different From the Original?

Sep 17, 2026

Ark Naturals Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste is a daily dental chew supplement for dogs, offered in Mini, Small, Medium and Large at $8.70 to $22.00. Ark positions it as a proactive option made for all sizes and ages, and lists it as approved by the National Animal Supplement Council. It is the step up from the standard Brushless chew.

Product at a glance

What is actually in it

Ark publishes two substantive statements about the composition of this product, and it is worth separating them carefully from what is simply not disclosed.

The first is antioxidants. Ark's listing says the chew is "made with powerful antioxidants to support total oral health." Antioxidants are compounds that help manage oxidative stress in tissue, and the mouth is a demanding environment for soft tissue because it is warm, wet, and permanently colonised by bacteria. Ark does not name the specific antioxidant compounds in its web listing, so we will not guess at them here.

The second is the oral microbiome. Ark describes the product as "clinically proven to help reduce plaque and tartar and improve the oral microbiome." That word microbiome is the meaningful difference between this chew and a purely mechanical one. The idea is that the bacterial community living in your dog's mouth can be shifted, rather than simply scraped off. We are reporting the brand's claim as the brand states it; ask your veterinarian how much weight to give it for your particular dog.

The third fact is regulatory rather than nutritional. Ark lists the product as approved by the National Animal Supplement Council. NASC operates a quality audit programme for animal supplement manufacturers, covering things like adverse event reporting and label accuracy. It speaks to manufacturing discipline. It is not a claim about clinical outcomes.

What is missing from the web listing is the full ingredient statement and the guaranteed analysis. Both appear on the physical pack. Check them there if your dog has any known sensitivity.

How to use it

We want to be careful here. Ark's online product data for Protection+ carries no dosing schedule, no serving count, and no chart matching dog weight in pounds to a size band. Rather than fill that gap with a plausible sounding number, we will point you to the directions printed on the bag, which is the only source written for the exact pack you own.

The four size tiers are your practical guide. Mini is the entry point at $8.70. Small moves to $19.50, and both Medium and Large sit at $22.00. Choose by your dog's physical size and how hard they chew, then confirm against the pack guidance.

A few handling notes that apply to any chew of this type. Give it when you can watch. Have water nearby. Introduce it gradually rather than swapping an entire routine overnight, particularly if your dog has a sensitive stomach. Should you notice loose stool, reduced appetite, or any reluctance to chew after you introduce it, stop and call your veterinary practice.

Who it suits, and who it does not

Protection+ makes most sense for the owner who has already decided that oral care is a priority and wants more than a texture based chew. Ark describes it as suited to dogs needing extra attention to their teeth, and the antioxidant and microbiome positioning is what you are paying the premium for.

It suits households that want an NASC audited product. If manufacturing oversight matters to you, that designation is a genuine point of difference within the range.

Where it fits less well: if your dog simply needs a straightforward daily chew and cost is the deciding factor, the standard Brushless Toothpaste covers that at a lower entry price and in more sizes. If your dog has a tender mouth and struggles with firm textures, the soft format version is the better call. And at the time of writing the Large size was not purchasable, so owners of big dogs may need to wait or choose differently.

One boundary deserves emphasis. Ark markets this as proactive, and proactive is the right word. A dog with established periodontal disease, visible tartar shelves, receding gums, or oral pain needs veterinary assessment and very likely a professional cleaning under anaesthesia. This chew is not a treatment for that condition and should never be used to delay a diagnosis.

How it compares

Three Ark products bracket this one.

Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste is the firm format daily supplement, four sizes, $8.70 to $22.00, carrying the antioxidant and microbiome positioning plus NASC approval.

Soft Shield Protection+ is the same proactive concept in a soft chew. Ark sells it in Small at $18.50 and Large at $22.00, describes it as a "soft format for sensitive chewers," and gives it the same antioxidant and NASC credentials. If your dog cannot manage firm chews, this is the direct swap.

Brushless Toothpaste, the original, is the simpler and broader option. Five sizes from $7.60 to $27.00, described by Ark in terms of functional ingredients and cleaning texture, without the microbiome language.

The decision tree is short. Want proactive oral support with a firm chew, choose Protection+. Want the same thinking in a soft chew, choose Soft Shield. Want a straightforward daily dental chew across more size options, choose the original.

How it fits a bigger routine

A supplement chew earns its place only inside a wider plan, and the plan has three legs.

The first leg is daily home care, which is where this product lives. The second is observation, and it is the one owners skip. Get in the habit of lifting your dog's lip once a week and looking at the gumline, the back molars especially, because that is where trouble starts and where you will never see it by accident. The third is professional veterinary dentistry on whatever schedule your vet sets.

The American Veterinary Medical Association maintains an owner facing guide to pet dental care that explains what happens during a professional cleaning and why anaesthesia is generally required to do it properly. It is worth ten minutes before your next appointment, and it is available at avma.org.

Building the habit matters more than optimising the product. Attach the chew to something you already do without thinking, such as your own evening routine, and it will survive.

Talk it over with your vet

Bring this product up at your next appointment rather than after a problem appears. Your veterinarian can look at your dog's mouth, tell you whether a proactive supplement is genuinely the right next step, and flag anything that a chew would be wrong for.

This conversation is essential if your dog takes medication, is managing a chronic condition, is pregnant or nursing, has food allergies, or has had recent dental surgery. Supplements can interact with treatment plans, and your vet is the only person with the full picture. If you spot bleeding gums, a change in how your dog eats, facial swelling, or persistent pawing at the mouth, book an appointment instead of adjusting a supplement.

FAQ

What is Ark Naturals Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste?

Ark Naturals Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste is a daily dental chew supplement for dogs from the pet wellness brand Ark Naturals. It comes in four sizes, Mini through Large, priced from $8.70 to $22.00, and Ark describes it as a proactive product made with antioxidants that is approved by the National Animal Supplement Council.

How is Protection+ different from regular Ark Naturals Brushless Toothpaste?

The standard Ark Naturals Brushless Toothpaste is presented as a dental chew whose texture and functional ingredients help clean teeth, while Protection+ is presented as a dental supplement built around antioxidants and support for the oral microbiome, and it carries National Animal Supplement Council approval. Protection+ comes in four sizes against the original's five, and it costs more at comparable sizes.

Is Ark Naturals Protection+ approved by any independent body?

Ark lists Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste as approved by the National Animal Supplement Council, an industry organisation that audits animal supplement makers on quality systems, labelling and adverse event reporting. Ark's product listing does not state that this product carries a Veterinary Oral Health Council seal, so do not assume one. Ask your veterinarian how to weigh these designations.

Can Protection+ treat my dog's gum disease?

No. Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste is a daily supplement intended to support oral health proactively, and it is not a treatment for periodontal disease or any other diagnosed condition. If your dog has red or bleeding gums, loose teeth, oral odour that has changed suddenly, or difficulty eating, those signs need veterinary examination and possibly professional cleaning rather than a supplement.

What sizes of Ark Naturals Protection+ are available and what do they cost?

Ark Naturals Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste is sold in Mini at $8.70, Small at $19.50, and Medium and Large at $22.00 each, direct from arknaturals.com. At the time of writing the Mini, Small and Medium sizes were in stock while the Large was listed as unavailable, so check the site for current status before ordering.

The bottom line

Ark Naturals Protection+ Brushless Toothpaste is a four size, NASC approved dental chew supplement running $8.70 to $22.00, aimed at dogs of any age whose owners want proactive daily oral support rather than texture alone. Match the size to your dog, switch to Soft Shield if firm chews are a struggle, and let your veterinarian confirm it belongs in the routine. See current sizes and stock at arknaturals.com.

Keep reading

All stories